PDA

View Full Version : First handgun for beginner; low recoil needed

Chris37
June 25, 2012, 07:53 AM
Hi everybody,

I'm new to the world of handguns and am looking for my first semi-auto. I've shot .22lr pistols and various rifles before but nothing bigger than that.

I have small to medium size hands for a male and due to a car accident many years ago, I'm recoil sensitive. I need something that isn't going to have a harsh felt recoil or high muzzle flip. I'm mainly looking for a home defense handgun more than anything else, I don't plan on getting my concealed carry so size isn't an issue.

I'd like something in the $400-$600 range and from my research, I've found about 4 different handguns that I wanted to get some opinions on before going to the gun store.

I'm basically looking at the CZ 75b 9mm, Rock Island Armory 1911 9mm, Beretta 92FS 9mm, and Beretta PX4 Storm 9mm. From all of my research, the general consensus is that a larger, heavier gun will have less felt-recoil than a smaller gun and the PX4 Storm seems to have less felt-recoil because of the rotating barrel design.

Are all these handguns reliable and what would you recommend? Any other suggestions other than what I'm considering?

Are all of these pistols a DA/SA design and what does that actually mean? I'm probably a bit weaker in my trigger finger than many other males due to this car accident and want to make sure I can pull the trigger easily enough. Can I bypass the Double-Action on these guns by cocking back the hammer for my first shot and then firing in single-action mode requiring less force?

Thanks for everything, I appreciate it!
Chris

loose_holster_dan
June 25, 2012, 07:58 AM