PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on a tactical stock for a hunting rifle.

rickyrick
February 22, 2012, 07:04 PM
I haven't been a big fan of all things tactical, but I do realize that some tactical items are useful.

I use a mini14 for nighttime hunting of pigs and coyotes. I have been doing so with the rifle in question for three years now and its battle scars are starting to add up on the wooden stock. The wood and blue of the mini is more visually appealing to me, but the reality is that it is a working rifle more than a fun gun.

What are the pros an cons of switching to a tactical stock.

I know of the snag-ability of tactical stocks and I also know that some of the shine can be taken off of the rifle.

All input us welcome except buy an AR suggestions LOL.

jephthai
February 22, 2012, 07:09 PM
I'm hankering for a vertical grip on my Tikka T3. This is one of the pros, in my opinion. I am much more comfortable and relaxed with a vertical grip. That said, I'm going with a thumbhole that isn't all that tactical to achieve it...

Sent from my Ally using Tapatalk

hoytinak
February 22, 2012, 07:10 PM
I've used a wood stocked Mini-14 for several years doing the same thing. It too had "battle scars" all over it. I just looked at them as character marks, after all you said it......it's a working rifle.

Coyote_Buster700
February 22, 2012, 07:10 PM
I plan on Putting my Mini-14 in a tactical stock in the near future. I see no cons only pros.

Achilles11B
February 22, 2012, 10:41 PM
Just get an AR! Ha! Kidding!

You didn't mention a price point, but here's a suggestion:

http://troyind.com/weapon-upgrades/chassis-packages/mini-14-mcs-upgrades

Troy makes great products, I use their VTAC handguards on both my AR's and one of them uses their iron sights as well.

mdd
February 22, 2012, 11:43 PM