PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first AR

modoc
February 17, 2012, 05:42 PM
I'm buying my first AR-15, probably a Wilson Combat UT-15, soon. I have two 9mm pistols, a .45 1911, and a pre-'64 Winchester model 70 rifle.

I know I could build a similar/better AR from scratch for less money, Wilson stuff is overpriced, etc... I've heard all that already:) At some point I'd love to start building ARs, but for now I just want something awesome OOTB so... yeah.

I know everyone will likely have a different opinion, but since I'm new to ARs I wanted to ask for advice around accessories.

I want a SHTF/Zombie gun that's effective as a CQB weapon but is also accurate and usable out to several hundred yards. Hence the UT-15's 16" barrel and <1 MOA.

I'll be looking for a fore grip, flashlight/mount, possibly laser, BUIS, optics, and then who knows what... There's a ton of options and it's hard to know what's good from looking at online storefronts.

For optics I'm thinking a 3.5 or 4x acog with a RMR mounted at 1 o'clock. But I've never used that setup in person and it's not cheap. Any advice? I did shoot a SCAR with a red dot with a ~3-4x magnifier unit that flipped out of the way. It was slick, but the red dot scope that was on there (not sure of the brand/model) required VERY exact eye position to be usable at all and seemed very taxing on my eyes.

Anyhow, I'd welcome any advice or comments, as, like I said, I'm new to this whole area.

buckhorn_cortez
February 17, 2012, 07:28 PM
Are you planning on shooting the rifle or just have it around to look at, and might use it if a zombie attack is imminent?

If you're actually going to shoot it, you might want to consider how you're going to use it before you overload it with accoutrements. If you're not careful, before you know it, you'll have a bayonet and grenade launcher on it.