PDA

View Full Version : Mauser 1910-14

jolly roger
October 27, 2011, 09:04 AM
Looking over this little Mauser 1910-14 right now. Seller wants $350. Sound good? Have no clue about a Mauser 1910-14 value... Thought some of you guys might. Thanks for input. Looks to be in pretty good shape. Photos attached.

carguychris
October 27, 2011, 03:37 PM
I am no great expert on these pistols, but that value is ~30%-40% higher than what I've seen for .25ACP (6.35mm) examples in roughly equivalent condition.

I've spoken to a fellow at a LGS who's quite knowledgeable about older European autos. He told me that Mauser 1910s don't usually fetch more than ~$300 unless they (a) have military proofs, (b) are one of the relatively rare early models, and/or (c) have 90%+ finish. This pistol looks like none of the above to me. These guns generally seem to have thin and fragile bluing, so examples with more than ~80% are rare; most guns that have been carried and/or stored carelessly have no more than 70% finish, like this one.

Winchester_73
October 27, 2011, 04:33 PM
Looking over this little Mauser 1910-14 right now. Seller wants $350. Sound good? Have no clue about a Mauser 1910-14 value... Thought some of you guys might. Thanks for input. Looks to be in pretty good shape. Photos attached.

I agree with what Carguy said but I want to add something - even if the seller came down to $300 or $250 VERIFY that the gun is matching first. The gun should at least have the SN on the slide, frame, barrel and side plate (on left with the MAUSER banner). IF its mismatched, I'd pass on it even as a shooter because these Mauser autos are not rare.

Also, the "GERMANY" mark denotes a gun made for the US market. US commercial Mausers are probably one of the least sought after subvariations of these Mauser pistols. In my experience, for plain jane or all else being equal Mausers, the 1934 models seem to be most sought after followed by the HSc's IMO.