PDA

View Full Version : Scopes and Sun Shades

Sphawley
October 13, 2011, 01:02 AM
Can some explain to me exactly what a sun shade does for a scope? I know this probably sounds stupid but im new to optics. Thanks!

mrawesome22
October 13, 2011, 01:13 AM
They reduce the amount of light that gets to your eye.

Very helpful if you are aiming in the direction of the sun.

Scorch
October 13, 2011, 01:18 AM
They also reduce glare from light entering the objective lense at an angle, as well as heat mirage from your barrel.

Sphawley
October 13, 2011, 01:31 AM
Can you give a couple real life scenarios you would want to use a sun shade?

Art Eatman
October 13, 2011, 09:23 AM
Late afternoon, shooting toward the west.

Scorch
October 13, 2011, 10:49 AM
Any precision shooting where you are out in full sun, like shooting in a prairie dog colony.
OR
Shooting on a firing line at long distance as in F-Class shooting.
OR
Tactical shooting, long range in the open.

A sunshade is one of those "nice to have" things, it is not indispensable. But just because many people do not use a sunshade does not mean it is pointless. Some do not like the extra weight, some do not like the extra cost, and some don't even know they exist.

Double Naught Spy
October 13, 2011, 11:35 AM

Any time that light falls on your front objective such that it causes lens flare. Art mentioned shooting west in the late afternoon. That would be a definite time when that could be a problem, but it can happen during about any time of the day if your scope gets oriented correctly with the sun.

Explanation...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lens_flare
Nice example...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:CCTV_Lens_flare.jpg

Of course, lens flare can be generated off of reflective surfaces, but the shade keeps it from happening as a result of direct impingement by the sun's rays.

Pahoo
October 13, 2011, 12:14 PM