PDA

View Full Version : Best Ammo for a 357 marlin lever gun

Hairbag
July 2, 2011, 01:07 AM
Ok, my dad is giving me one of his prized rifles from his 30+ winchester and marlin collection. He is passing down to me a Marlin 357 "trapper" 18" pre-lock new old stock rifle. I'm new at lever rifles but they do look like fun. He also has a 44magnum lever he offered but I will pass on that one. Ok, so help a fella out. I own alot of hanguns in 38 and 357's so I have lots of ammo lying around but i want to be sure I use the best ammo or the right ammo for the givin situation as follows 1. Best (accurate) for target and plinking 38's and 357's I have alot of 38's from 125gr +P to 158gr since the 38 are cheaper i guess they will make a better range target shooter? I also have a few boxes of 110gr 357 mags that i would like to just shoot off becuase i wont use em for SD. 2. I would like to try hog hunting here in SC if i can find a guide or some folks who will teach me. What would be the best choice for hog hunting? I would assume that the heavier bullets in 38/357 will work the best as opposed to lighter ones such as the 125jhp kind. I hear diffrent things on the GB such as lighter bullets tend to break up or fragment when fired from a rifle barrel? and what would be a good round to protect the "farm" from 2 and 4 legged creatures? Most of the 38 and 357 i found seems to carry them in the 158gr flavor. I know buffalo bore carry heavier bullets but do i really need them. Would'nt a 158gr 357 magnum take a Hog with no problems and 158gr 38 standard pressure work fine for target shooting? I also hear some lever guns are picky with hangun cartriges? I picked the marlin over winchester for pistol calibers because the marlin seems to have a better rep with pistol calibers? Thanks in advance Don

youngunz4life
July 2, 2011, 01:48 AM
winchester supreme deer hunting 180gr 357 hollowpoint ammo

Hook686
July 2, 2011, 02:09 AM