PDA

View Full Version : Kimber Ultra Carry 2 .45

Mokumbear
July 1, 2011, 06:46 PM
Anyone care to share their experience with the Kimber Ultra Carry 2 .45?

Is this one of the better 1911 style .45's with a 3" barrel?

Is the "matte black" slide pretty rust resistant?

How would you rate Kimber customer service?

wuluf
July 1, 2011, 06:51 PM
Thankfully, i have no knowledge of Kimber customer service. I own two, an Ultra Carry II and a Custom II. I carry the UC everyday, and find it reliable and accurate with the right magazines and ammo. If it's new, it might take you a while to break it in, something that seems to drive some people crazy. After 500 or so rounds, i started using the Kim-Pro Tac mags and Blazer 230 FMG for the range and Hornady 200 XTP for defense carry. I'm really happy with both Kimbers...

doctori
July 1, 2011, 07:18 PM
I have an UC 2 with Meprolights and love it! I did have one before this one but it had issues like double firing. I contacted Kimber and they were eager to get it back and fix it however, it was stolen in transit back to Yonkers. Luckily, it was insured and replaced in kind. I did purchase some Wilson mags to use with the UC 2.

The only slight drawback is the weight but it is tolerable.

wyohusker
July 1, 2011, 07:37 PM
I have been looking at this gun also. Don't mean to steel your thread. Question though....why on a high end gun do the factory mags not work? I love the feel and look of the kimbers.

lcpiper
July 1, 2011, 08:38 PM
This might answer your magazine question as well.

I also have a UC2, I suggest if you buy one get one that already has night sights or it'll cost you about $130 more later on to have them installed. Just use that as a price difference figure.