PDA

View Full Version : Help with AR-15 build

Silent Titan
March 23, 2011, 01:37 PM
Hi everyone, im new to TFL and this is my first thread so try and go easy on me.

Ok, so i have been wanting an AR-15 for a while and i now that i have surplus income each month from my job its time to pull the trigger on this project. I am looking at a 16" dissipator and I want to built it from the ground up, not from a kit. My price range is around $1200 or so. Im going to spread it out over a few months so if it ends up being a bit more thats not a huge problem, i want a quality gun that i can enjoy for years.

So far i have decided on these parts:

- daniel defence forged chrome lined 16" barrel
- RRA A4 reciever
- RRA NM 2 stage triger
- magpul moe handguard
- magpul ctr stock
- magpul folding front and rear sights

Im need help with pretty much everything else. Especially all the little parts for the upper and lower that i'll need. Any opinions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

rjrivero
March 23, 2011, 02:06 PM
You can get a lower parts kit from ADCO with the trigger upgrade. www.adcofirearms.com

In fact, you can get your entire build list from them. They have it all on the shelf.

I would go with a Mid length gas system, and if you *really* want a dissy look, get a sight post mounted up front. You don't want a rifle length gas system on a 16" barrel. It just plain won't run.

This is the barrel that I think fits your bill (http://www.adcofirearms.com/itemdetails_.cfm?inventorynumber=4209).....You will need the upper parts kit as well as the lower parts kit. It may be worth saving up the pennies to have them build the upper for you, unless you want to buy the barrel nut wrench, and upper receiver block, and a vice if you don't already have them.

Silent Titan
March 23, 2011, 03:13 PM