PDA

View Full Version : Taurus PT609

Billy Tasso
November 28, 2010, 10:53 PM
I have a lot of experience with firearms and have never before had a problem disassembling a pistol; however, I followed the instructions to disassemble my new PT609 and the slide came back forward to the assembled pistol position and now willl not more either forward or backwards.. Does anybody have a solution for me? This one has really got me confused. I pulled the slide rearward and locked it at that postion, then rotated the take down pin clockwise until it stopped, then I slid it out. I then released the slide latch to allow the slide to go forward while pulling the trigger per instructions. It's now stuck as describel above.

Billy Tasso
December 1, 2010, 04:10 PM
Well after calling customer service at Taurus and following the instructions of the customer service representative on the telephone, I am now sending the firearm back to Taurus with the trigger dislocated in the frame.
I was told to pull the trigger forward and it should release the slide. I did that and the slide was able to be pulled backward. I pulled the slide all the way to the rear, then depressed the trigger again and allowed the slide to go forward. It again stuck directly over the receiver and would not move forward or backward. The rep. told me to pull the trigger forward again. This time the trigger dislodged from the receiver and stuck out the trigger guard sideways. NOT WHAT I WANTED TO SEE ON A BRAND NEW PISTOL.
To their credit, I was emailed a shipping lable immediately and brought the pistol to FED EX. and shipped it off to Taurus' Miami office. I was told 2 to 4 week turn around on the repairs.

Has anyone had any experience with the Taurus PT609. I'd love to hear some good news about the pistol. I got a good deal at Academy Sports on the purchase price of only $288.00. and didn't own a 9mm at the time, so I thought I'd try one out.
I'll keep you guys posted.

AustinTX
December 1, 2010, 06:20 PM