PDA

View Full Version : What guns do I need for IDPA?

Alex Johnson
May 10, 2000, 01:57 PM
Hi everybody. I got invited to shoot in an IDPA match this month, but I'm unsure of what I need to shoot the match. The only pistols I have at the moment are a Kimber Ultra Carry and an Old Colt Officer's model Target in 38 special. Unfortunately I had to sell my Browning Hi-Power last month. What events would I be able to shoot with these guns? Also, is it OK to use hardball in IDPA events?

AKrob
May 10, 2000, 03:33 PM
IDPA requires stock guns with little tolerance for modifications. I think you'll be fine with the Kimber, but I'm not sure about the Colt. Check out http://www.idpa.com for a list of all approved guns and rules.

I'm new to IDPA, and it is an absolute blast. Have fun...

Ned Roundtree
May 12, 2000, 08:49 AM
Based on the two guns you have, I would use the Kimber Ultra Carry. Hardball is perfectly okay for IDPA, but you really have to check with your local range rules. I use .45acp factory S&B hardball for instance in my Springfield Armory 1911. I have a combat type open top holster and double pouch magazine holder. Depending on the club, I have found always having two full mags in pouch and another two on my person always helps. I have never had to use more than three mags, the fourth magazine is for toping off. We generally shoot from conceal carry at our matches. You may want to ask about bringing a light weight vest,jacket, or wear a big loose shirt. Good luck.

Sport
May 12, 2000, 05:04 PM
Alex,

I too, would suggest the Kimber.
You're gun will fit in better by the
simple fact that most IDPA matches are
more auto friendly. That's not to say
folks don't use revolvers, they do.
Usually,though,revolver shooters understand
they are handicapping themselves and accept
that reality.

You will get hooked. IDPA is what renewed
my interest in handguns. That was almost
three years ago. I think I've missed only
two matches in the past thirty-three