PDA

View Full Version : Machine Shop Ideas?

Norrick
August 26, 2010, 03:00 AM
So I'm a student majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I was told I have to take this new course as a co-requisite to one of my classes. I didn't know anything about it at first. Today was the first day. They want us to get acquainted with the use of several types of machinery and safety procedures.

It looks pretty exciting. Its a giant room full of drill presses, lathes, mills, sheet metal bending equipment, and I think maybe even CNC.

We have a couple of projects where we get to design our own (and fabricate) our own things.

Looking at previous students work, alot of people have constructed all sorts of vices and some have made simpler things like a mallet. Those were the examples that students gave to the instructor. You get to actually keep your own work here.

Who can give me some ideas? The items cannot be too large (lets say can fit in a large shoe-box) and I'm not sure what materials we have access to yet beyond aluminum... I swear one of the things he was showing us looked like it was cast iron.

The idea behind the course is not to train machinists, but to give us a background in what goes into fabrication for when we are designing things down the road (i.e. you can't design something that is impractical to manufacture... economics, safety, etc...)

It's going to be a learning experience so complicated objects aren't necessarily a good thing, especially if I'd like them to actually work. I'm leaning towards my own set of rings, or a custom rail for one of my guns...

Currently I have a modest reloading setup (rock chucker supreme and dies, ram priming unit... and I only mention this because maybe I could make a threaded attachment to the press that does something unique and useful).

The guns I own currently are a Ruger 77/22, Browning T-bolt, Remington 700 VTR .308, and a Ruger Super Blackhawk Hunter .45 colt.