PDA

View Full Version : Floating Barrel

Sphawley
August 24, 2010, 02:03 AM
What are the benefits of actually doing this to your rifle?

How hard is this to do? Is there a kit to do this? Is it really worth the effort and money?

This may be kinda dumb, but I'm still learning thanks!!

Win_94
August 24, 2010, 02:32 AM
With prolonged fire, your barrel will heat; most barrels will heat-up with just a few shots. When the barrel heats it expands and if there is an obstruction it will cause inconsistent pressure that can be detrimental to accuracy. Floating the barrel will eliminate that condition.

How hard is this to do? Is there a kit to do this?
If you are handy with tools and such, it wouldn't be too hard. Yes they have kits. I've read where people have used two washers. Done!

Is it really worth the effort and money?
If you are satisfied with how your rifle shoots already, it probably isn't.
I shoot 2 30-06 rifles that shoot well and they don't have free floated barrels. One used to be floated, but the stock was refinished and now it is varnish bedded. I wouldn't float it for fear of making it shoot bad.

nimbleVagrant
August 24, 2010, 02:36 AM
Freefloating the barrel of a rifle is simply the elimination of ballistic variables. Contact between the stock and the barrel can cause unpredictable variations in trajectory not only as a result of inconsistent pressure applied to the barrel but also by causing inconsistent variations in barrel resonance.

As far as difficulty, it depends on the specific rifle, the stock material and sometimes how the action is bedded. Sometimes it's as simple as some careful sanding in the barrel channel, sometimes it's a bit more complicated.

Is it worth it? That depends on the rifle and what you want to do with it. If you're punching paper with a target oriented rifle; sure. If it's a hunting rifle you only shoot 3 times a year; maybe.

Hoskins
August 24, 2010, 03:01 AM