PDA

View Full Version : Marlin 336 questions

reaper_t_r
August 8, 2010, 11:50 PM
Even though I have been shooting fo a while, this is my first lever action. I bought it used from a reliable source, but I am having a few problems.

1.) My gun has extraction problems. Every 4-5 rounds, the lever doesn't want to open to extract the case. Once I force it open, the rest of the cycle works smoothly. The next 4-5 ronds are great, and then another jam. The ammo I have been shooting is really cheap (Monarch), and it seems like a stuck case type problem that I had in a Remington 700 a while back. Anyone have any experience with this type of problem in a Marlin?

2.)The guns sights were removed and lost along with the screws a long time before I bought it. What size screws are the front sight srews and the receiver scope mount screws on a Marlin 336?

3.) I am planning on machining my own peep sight for the receiver and front sight for the barrel. I am a competent machinist and it will be free for me to make it. Any recomendations?

jimbob86
August 9, 2010, 12:15 AM
What do the empty cases look like?

Difficult extraction can be a sign of excessive pressure...... or a really dirty chamber.....

reaper_t_r
August 9, 2010, 08:16 AM
The cases look fine. No signs of excessive pressure on the primers, heads, or necks. The only isue with the cases that I saw was a slight bit of flashback around the necks. But I encounter that problem regularly with Monarch.

The chamber, however, could be dirty. I'll have to give it a good cleaning.

Joat
August 9, 2010, 08:49 AM
Try some other ammo and see if that corrects your problem. It may be a combination of a dirty chamber and "hard" brass. I had that problem with some older reloads when the cases were improperly annealed.
Also check that the lever screw is tight. If it is loose it allows the lever to cant off to the side during use and imparts a bind on the bolt.