PDA

View Full Version : How do I start competing?

thaddeus
February 20, 1999, 07:31 AM
I am in SoSoCal and want to start competing in combat shooting. I want to do something with movement, like a "Hogan's alley" kida thing, not just still-shooting at stationary targets. How do I start? Are there competitions for total beginners? Do I need instruction first or can I just show up?

thanks,
thaddeus

HS
February 20, 1999, 08:17 AM
Thaddeus, in both IPSC & IDPA there are "swinging" targets in various course of fire.

Practicing at the range - moving from target to target with your finger off the trigger may be beneficial.

Having at least 3 mags is another thing to consider !

Knowing not to break niety degrees is very important !! - Gun must always point downrage, especially when moving diagonally !!!!!

No "beginner" course of fire that I've ever heard of - best thing is to go & watch a match & ask lots of q's !

Other guys here can fill you in on what's in your area better than me (a few 1000mls away !)

BTW.... It's a RUSH !!!

------------------
"The Gun from Down Under !"

motorep
February 20, 1999, 09:21 AM
Thaddeus- go to http://www.uspsa.org. All the information you're looking for is there.

Michael Carlin
February 20, 1999, 11:44 AM
Thaddeus,

Thanks for the email on the knife subject!

Here is my advice: Just do it!

You need:

pistol in 9mm or bigger
decent holster
three magazines
four boxes (200 rounds of ammo)
ear protection (preferably both plugs and muffs to wear over them)
eye protection

Go to the first USPSA or IDPA match you can find.

Tell the match director or Chief Range Officer that this is your first match.

They will square you away. Then go slow, take your time, do not concern yourself with your score. Just BE SAFE amd shoot the best you can. It is my opinion that matches are the very best practice anyway!