PDA

View Full Version : Uncle Mikes.....quality in the gutter!!!

threegun
July 22, 2010, 06:57 PM
Guys I carry my pistol in an Uncle Mikes Sidekick fanny pack. My last pack I have been using for some 5 years or so. I finally decided to replace it with a new one since the old bag had faded a bit. It was still in perfect working condition so I gave it to a coworker and ordered me a brand spanking new one. Well the brand new pack comes in and I fill it up with gear and strap it on. Within about a week the right side of the holster compartment starts to open by itself. This exposes half my gun. I try closing it harder and it opens again. I decide to examine the pack because it felt cheaper than the old one although it was brand new. To my surprise the new pack was made in Vietnam instead of the USA as the old pack was. I called Uncle Mikes and they replaced the pack. The NEW new pack did the exact same thing. I'm gonna try to get a refund this time but I will not be silent. Uncle Mikes has gone down hill and will never get another penny from me until they return to USA manufacture.

Eskimo
July 22, 2010, 07:05 PM
You get what you pay for.. I see 5 dollar mike's holsters.

EdInk
July 22, 2010, 07:19 PM
So you admit to being a fannypacker. :confused:

All joking aside, I honestly didn't think anyone still wore one those things.
(Thought they were replaced with the "man purse.")

dnr1128
July 22, 2010, 07:33 PM
Its basically a sign that you're packing. Just like a photog vest with no camera.

Daryl
July 22, 2010, 08:13 PM
Its basically a sign that you're packing. Just like a photog vest with no camera.

So? Who cares if someone suspects you're carrying?

I wear a leather western vest occasionally. I have three to choose from, and in this country around Tombstone it fits right in. I couldn't care less if someone thinks I'm carrying.

Heck, much of the time I open carry anyway. I can vividly remember a time, not so long ago, when that was the only option is most of the US.