PDA

View Full Version : Lend me some tools?

govmule84
July 17, 2010, 03:58 PM
So...

I'm a wrench by trade, so I understand being leery about lending tools. If anyone actually does me this favor, I'll be shocked.

I'm building a cheapy scout rifle out of an old Mosin 91/30. I want to whack about ten inches off the barrel.

I would like to find someone who could lend me a muzzle facing tool, and perhaps some sort of crown polishing tool.

My 2 LGS want 65 bucks and a month to do this job, which I find appallingly ridiculous - especially on a ninety-nine dollar rifle.

So... if you are willing to lend me some tools, I'll gladly pay shipping and trade/give you something for your efforts, and obviously if I break something I will replace it.

Anyone game?

-Liam

Goatwhiskers
July 17, 2010, 04:08 PM
Cut off with a hacksaw. Use a small square and a file to square up the muzzle. Crown with a large brass round-headed screw chucked in your drill using valve grinding compound as the abrasive. Touch up with cold blue. Here endeth the lesson. Goatwhiskers the Elder

govmule84
July 17, 2010, 04:09 PM
Half the people I read say that works like s charm, and the other half say you need a lathe.

I suppose they had guns before lathes... that method actually works?

-L.

HiBC
July 17, 2010, 04:21 PM
Without commenting on your gunsmith's rates,realize cutting and crowning your Moisin < $100 dollar Moisin is the same investment of time and effort for the smith as it would be on a > $3000 dollar rifle,though admittedly the smith may take extra pains with the expensive rifle.
I use a lathe,can't loan it to you,and wouldn't.Loaning tools is a losing proposition.