PDA

View Full Version : Sight suggestions for a 870 with rails

Zentanker
June 3, 2010, 09:53 PM
Hello everyone, in hopes of not being a completely annoying noob, I've searched and haven't quite found the answer that works for my situation- if this has been done to death already I apologize.

I have a 870 Express Magnum with most of the goodies you could want on it, except some sights.

Knoxx specops stock, surefire forearm, and Mesa sidesaddle with rails. etc/

This is it on the left, obviously:

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_ds0Hao6kADU/TAaKoIJ8tnI/AAAAAAAAADA/aII6kQy3X9E/s720/2010-06-02%2011.43.36.jpg

For those not especially familiar with the Mesa sidesaddle/rail setup, it looks like this:

http://www.mesatactical.com/images/111.jpg

It sits above the receiver enough that you can sight through the opening under it to see the front bead.

So what exactly are my best options? I honestly first considered getting a reflex holo sight (I love my EOtech on my M4) but I think that's a little overkill for a shotgun like this. Plus, sights break, batteries go dead, etc. so now I'm leaning MUCH more heavily toward getting some ghost rings.

1. Is mounting a ghost ring on the picatinny rail a good idea? I don't seem to see that done very often.
2. Are there any sights that are low profile enough that they can be used and sighted UNDER the mesa rails? There's maybe about a 1/4 inch of opening under those rails to sight through, so that isn't much room to play with.
3. Should I look for some sights with a field of view that sights over the the rails?
4. Or should I just go play in traffic and leave you guys alone? :p

All I'm looking for is a reasonably affordable, durable sight system that will help me hit a zombie with a slug at ranges a bit outside of buckshot range. Shouldn't be too difficult, right? ;)

I appreciate any suggestions or ideas.

zippy13
June 5, 2010, 12:28 AM
Greetings Zentanker and welcome aboard,