PDA

View Full Version : Is a Ruger P95 a good gun to buy?

alang
May 23, 2010, 12:01 PM
I plan to buy a Ruger P95, 10+1 round but have no experience at all because i am new to firearms.
It would be for self-home defense, and my budget is tight.
Please anyone has used or oenwd the P95 giving me advices.
Thanks a lot

dpetreikis
May 23, 2010, 12:17 PM
i've owned 2 p95s, as well as a couple of p97s (45 acp) and have had no problems with any of them. exceptionally reliable, sturdy guns. they tend to look and feel a little blocky to some, though personally i kinda like the way they look. will typically feed just about anything you can get your hands on and accurate enough for most users/situations. reasonably priced and good value - p95s usually go for around $300 or so new, a little less used. good luck!

lee n. field
May 23, 2010, 12:29 PM
10+1

Are you in a jurisdiction that restricts magazine capacity? Normal capacity is 15+1.

alang
May 23, 2010, 12:32 PM
yes, i live in CA.

Leejack
May 23, 2010, 01:07 PM
Yes, it is.

Lee

BerettaBuckeye
May 23, 2010, 01:36 PM
P95 is a great gun for the money, you won't be disappointed if you're looking for a da/sa 9mm pistol :cool:. Those 10 round mags are an abomination though:barf:

jonsparks
May 23, 2010, 02:11 PM
Here's mine. I like it so far. Reliable through 300 rounds. I'm one
of the few that really likes the Art Deco looks of the P95. I put a
strip of skateboard tape on the backstrap so it isn't so slick. I just
wish I could have gotten one with the decocker and not the manual safety..
Buy it, you support Arizona too!

http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq354/yerscattergun/Roof-8209.jpg

TriumphGuy
May 23, 2010, 05:19 PM
You won't do any better in the price range. In fact, for $300 you'll do far worse if you buy about anything else. Only problem you might have is that some have shipped with a rear sight that's WAY too high. A phone call to Ruger will get you a new one free if you do.