PDA

View Full Version : How do you maintain your magazines?

sliponby
May 11, 2010, 09:52 PM
I have 3 semi-autos and they each have at least 4 magazines each. I keep 2 magazines in use at a time (one in gun/one spare). The other magazines are "resting" and I change them out every 3 months without fail.

My questions are: even if I'm "resting" the magazine springs every 3 months should I replace the magazine springs and florrplates and how often, and, should I forget about rotating them and just replace all the springs and floorplates yearly??? Is it necessary to replace the floorplate?

I would be interested to hear how some of you handle your magazines; if and how often you change the springs and floorplates and if anyone else rotates and rests them like I do.

I'm relatively new to EDC, a little over a year now, and I appreciate those who share their knowledge and experience. I have learned much from this forum. Thanks!:)

fastforty
May 11, 2010, 11:43 PM
Keep them all fully loaded, never know when you might need them faster than you can load them up. All of the parts (including springs) will outlive your great grandchildren. Do not use oil on magazines, run them DRY.

publius
May 12, 2010, 12:13 AM
I keep 3 mags loaded in my primary pistol 1 in gun and 2 spares. I have had most of my mags, including springs birdsong Black-T'd so I don't have any rust. Mag springs wearing out is a non-issue. If it really worries you, replace them every 10 years and send me your old springs.

Bill DeShivs
May 12, 2010, 12:48 AM
Springs aren't alive-they don't need to rest.

AZAK
May 12, 2010, 02:41 AM
They send me this reminder, which I return with a check, and my subscription rolls on with out a hitch!

Seriously.

My original 20+ year old Colt Delta Elite mags worked just fine, even after being loaded much of the time. I just replaced them about a year ago with +5% Wolff springs, and they still work. Did I need to replace them? They were still working.