PDA

View Full Version : Sig Mosquito

toro1966
May 3, 2010, 08:11 PM
Hey guys, first post and a newbie here...be gentle. I did read the entire manual and I have searched this and other forums. I can't find definitive answers to two questions. I have a 22lr Sig Sauer Mosquito in Winter Digital Camo. I bought the gun brand new in the box and sealed.

1. The saftey moves up and down as it should but I se nothing moving like on my wlather 22 to block the hammer fall. I assume this safety is internal and that it prevents the firing pin from being contacted by the hammer. Is this correct?

2. I field stripped, cleaned, and oiled, per the manual prior to use. I still have not had a chance to get to the range with this as I just got it this weekend. I notice that the hammer does not fall all the way. Meaning, it does not look as if it even contacts the back piece (pin - forgive my lack of gun component knowledge). In other words, there is a little play - meaning I can push it up slightly when the hammer is in the up position. Hope this is not confusing. This may be normal, but since it is different than any of my other weapons, I wanted to check. Do any of you have any "play" in the hammer of your mosquito when the hammer is up and has been de-cocked?

Thanks again for all of youe time and have a great day. Cheers.

DiscoRacing
May 3, 2010, 08:12 PM
Welcome... looks as if you were born the same year I was.

t45
May 3, 2010, 08:30 PM
Your Sig Mosquito is normal.
1. Your safety is internal and blocks the hammer from striking the fireing pin. It will still fall when the safety is on but will not fire.
2. Your hammer does not rest on the fireing pin when down. Inertia from the hammer when trigger is pulled will allow the hammer to hit the fireing pin. So the small gap is normal.
I have a Sig Mosquito Sport and have had very good luck with it. Clean it completely. I use CCI Mini-Mags and my gun runs 100%. Other brands are iffy. Hope this helps! Welcome to the best forum. :D