PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk about vertical grips

Bartholomew Roberts
April 18, 2010, 11:05 AM
Lately I've been reading several threads asking about vertical grips and the impression I've gotten is that a lot of people look at it as just a piece of gear that you stick on a rifle. I've been using a vertical grip for about five years now and I thought I would share some of my experiences in hopes of both learning something that will help me and maybe letting someone else learn faster through my experiences.

Initially, I was not a fan of vertical grips. I had never really found them all that comfortable and felt they were gimmicky. One day I was trying to do a very specific drill in a very specific time. The drill was called a "box drill." I started out 15yds from two IDPA targets about 7' apart. At the buzzer, I would begin moving. The goal was to put two shots into the lower -0 zone on each IDPA target and then one shots into the upper -0 zone on each target, effectively drawing a box with the muzzle. The idea was to shoot this drill clean (no misses) in under 5 seconds.

The problem was I couldn't do it. If I was fast enough, I dumped shots outside the -0 zone. If I was accurate enough, my time went longer than 5 seconds. At the time I was using a magwell hold with support hand or griping the handguard in the traditional fashion. After many frustrating runs, without even realizing what I was trying to do, I reached far out to the end on my Knight's 7" FF-RAS and grabbed hold of my flashlight in something that looked like this:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=59065&d=1271605453

All of a sudden, I had a sub-5 second clean run, and then another, and another. I felt like Archimedes when he sat in that bathtub. :D Although I didn't realize it at the time, grabbing the flashlight like that actually had several advantages over a vertical grip; but comfort wasn't one of them, so I decided to buy a vertical grip.