PDA

View Full Version : Nightforce 2.5-10 x 32? Opinions? Other options?

ginshun
March 31, 2010, 09:17 AM
Has anybody used this scope? I am thinking of one for a new hunting rifle project that I am just getting started.
I'd like something that has a decent range of mag. So that I can use t close up and far away. I'd also like some sort of ballistic compensating reticle, preferably illuminated. I don't want to fiddle with target knobs in the field. For a long shot I want to get the range via range finer and get the shot off.
The rifle is a Winchester 1885 single shot in 300 wsm. I think I like this scope the best of the ones Ive seen. I have been researching and found this one, Leopold vx-3L w/ the B&C reticle, Burris Six with the Ballistic plex - maybe a couple of others.

Just trying to get some thoughts on this type of scope / application from those who know. The $1300 that this scope runs is pretty much my absolute max - less would be nice, but I also want to get the best I can for that much cash.

Jimro
March 31, 2010, 11:24 AM
Is there any reason why you want such a small main lens?

If so then IOR makes a 2-12x32 that is available with the MP8 reticle.
And a full size 2.5-10x42 IOR is a pleasure to use.

Jimro

mapsjanhere
March 31, 2010, 12:15 PM
For a hunting rifle I wouldn't go under a 40 mm objective if you're up to 10 x magnification. You're giving up a lot of low light performance, the 40 has 60% more light gathering capability than the 32. NF's R1 recticle works well for quick ballistics.

ginshun
March 31, 2010, 12:44 PM
No, there really is no reason that I want the small objective. I honestly was wondering how much of a difference it would really make. Like if I have that Nightforce, how much is the clarity in the optics going to make up for the small objective vs something like a leopold VX1 or a Burris Fullfield II at 3-9 power x 40mm?? Thats really what I am more familiar with for hunting.