PDA

View Full Version : Glock fixed sight adjustment?

tilsover
March 24, 2010, 07:21 PM
I've been enjoying my Glock 26 for a couple of months now, and was re-reading the manual tonight. It says the fixed rear sight is adjustable for windage. If I ever wanted to move it would I just tap it over with a punch? Thanks.

KenpoTex
March 24, 2010, 07:28 PM
yes, either with a punch, or with a sight-tool (kinda looks like a small C-clamp).

Brian Pfleuger
March 24, 2010, 07:29 PM
I sight drift tool would be ideal. You want to use something that won't dent/mar the finish. A small wooden dowel would work.

45_Shooter
March 24, 2010, 09:44 PM
Glocks are particularly 'fun' to move the sights on, especially factory steel ones; make sure you have a strong brass drift punch, a relatively heavy hammer (brass again works well), and a rag covered board to set the pistol on while beating the tar out of it! (The rear sight is the only one that moves on a Glock)

If your sights are standard plastic however, then the part you need to hit is the base of the sight, which is steel (molded to the upper plastic). A sight pusher is the best way on these sights, although strategic use of a punch/hammer might also work. If you mess up though, the sight might delaminate the steel from the plastic, requiring a replacement.

Wleoff
March 24, 2010, 09:58 PM
Glock makes a rear sight adjustment tool that is shaped like the rear sight. I've got one, but I don't see an number on it. A couple of slips with a brass punch and the tool is cheap. I don't remember paying that much for mine. I think that I bought it from Midway.

evan1293
March 24, 2010, 10:15 PM
If its centered in the notch, you won't need to adjust it.

tilsover
March 25, 2010, 06:33 AM