PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 Feeding issues

1stkoolkid
March 21, 2010, 12:59 PM
Hi, I'm new to TheFiringLine. I have a question concerning my Bushmaster model xm15-e2s M16A2 style AR-15. I'm having trouble getting it to feed properly. I just bought it not too long ago, and when I got it it was firing perfectly, ie, I could empty a 30 round mag in 10 seconds ish. Well, it started jamming really bad- it wasn't ejecting the previous shell and it was trying to feed a new shell. Well, that was a simple fix- it just needed to be cleaned and lubed. However, now it's being really finicky about feeding. Every once and a while I'll be able to fire like normal. However, most of the time after firing the first round when it tries to chamber the next round the bolt starts to push the next round into the chamber, but its like it just barely catches, and then it starts to ride over the shell. To fix it, all I have to do is drop the mag, pull back the charging handle and let the shell fall into the chamber, but then as soon as I fire that round the same thing happens again. Here's a pic: http://brandons-music-page.googlegroups.com/web/IMG_0297.jpg?hl=en&gsc=TqQpCwsAAADuE3mIzBr4vKaQvwMlFYxo

I'm completely out of solutions, other than I totally hate the lube I have... I'm used to the CLP I use on my M16 at my guard unit... this stuff is in an aerosol can, and it seems to be more with cleaning in mind than lubing (though it claims to be good for both). I've never experienced this type of jam before, and don't know of anyone else who has either. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

rjrivero
March 21, 2010, 01:54 PM
These kind of feed issues are USUALLY magazine related. Do you have another mag you can try? What kind of magazines are you using? You may have to go ahead and either rebuild this mag (New spring and follower) or just try a new magazine.

If you are going to rebuild a magazine, I suggest using Magpul's no tilt follower.

RJ

Bartholomew Roberts
March 21, 2010, 04:42 PM