PDA

View Full Version : Beginner what .22 rifle to go for?

richfr
December 19, 2009, 12:52 PM
Hi everyone I am new to the sport (and forum) and thinking of buying a .22 rifle for my first gun. I live in France and have to wait 6 months before I can buy anything interesting.
I was going to wait the six months and buy a 9mm pistol but that means relying on other members to lend me guns and sell me the ammo :( and most of the time I am just hanging around especially if the guys I know aren't there. I am very keen to learn and think it will be a long term hobby for me :D

I thought I would get a .22 rifle and as the ammo is cheap and will give me a good starting point. I will probably end up keeping it anyway but money is an issue if I want a 9mm in 6 months.
So do I buy a cheap Chinese Norinco JW15 kit (Alpen sights, silencer, hard case, cleaning kit and 500 rounds) or do I buy a quality rifle and use the iron sights for a while then get optics etc later?
What would you guys recommend?
I think they are a bit more expensive over here the JW15 kit would be €310 $430.

Thanks Rich

fyimo
December 19, 2009, 01:26 PM
I never vote to get a cheap gun except if the research shows it is dead reliable and decently accurate. Most cheap rifles have feeding problems and don't shoot very accuratly. I really can't comment other then that because I don't know what's available or the pricing in France.

chris in va
December 19, 2009, 01:34 PM
I don't suppose you can get a 9mm carbine like a KelTec or HiPoint? They're a lot more fun than a 22 rifle.

Microgunner
December 19, 2009, 01:39 PM
Always buy the finest firearm you can afford if you plan to use it. Good quality never goes out of style.

hodaka
December 19, 2009, 01:45 PM
Welcome Rich,

I would forego the Norinco and go for something American or European made. CZ's are popular over here as are a bunch of others too numerous to count. Are silencers easy to acquire there? There is a considerable extra tax on them here.