PDA

View Full Version : CZ-52 vs. Tokarev?

zombieslayer
October 28, 2009, 12:30 PM
So, I've gotten it in my head that I want a new gun and have always liked 7.62x25 since the first CZ I shot. I've heard the Tokarevs are more picky about ammo. Any thoughts/opinions?

ohen cepel
October 28, 2009, 12:37 PM
I like the CZ better myself, feels better in my hand and will take hot ammo without problems.

I have little Tok experience (Chinese version) but would agree with the ammo issue, they can't take the hot ammo which was made for the sub guns or the 52.

I think the CZ's are a great deal now and would jump on one. I haven't liked the Tok's that have been imported recently since they have the safety added. This is usually done poorly (allowed my Chinese one to fire upon closing) to little gain in my mind.

I would get the CZ unless you're getting a steal on the Tok.

zombieslayer
October 28, 2009, 12:43 PM
Is it true that you can bet a 9mm mag and barrel for a 52? I thought I saw a whole set up at a gunshow, and it came with a couple barrels and was supposed to be interchangeable.

ZeSpectre
October 28, 2009, 12:47 PM
Is it true that you can bet a 9mm mag and barrel for a 52?
It was true once upon a time...good luck finding one now.

I'm afraid the heyday of "cheap and available milsurp" is fading to a close.

XLT
October 28, 2009, 12:52 PM
mags are generally the same...

I have a 9mm czech made barrel for mine... got it from AIM a while back but they ran out within days...Haven't shot 9mm through as I haven't been able to get the parts to make a it a drop in...

I prefer the look of the Tok, but the feel of the CZ...

amd6547
October 28, 2009, 12:54 PM
I much prefer the Tokarev. The two I have had experience with (pitted mismatch Chinese Viet Nam bringback, and Romanian) fed and fired any ammo I put in them, with 100% reliability, and great accuracy.