PDA

View Full Version : M4 Failure makes headlines

usnavdoc
October 11, 2009, 09:06 AM
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091011/ap_on_go_ca_st_pe/us_afghanistan_weapons_failures;_ylt=AgRhslqbcrHiLcRt4xArZyDBF4l4;_ylu=X3oDMTMyOXNoZDRvBGFzc2V0A2FwLzIwMDkxMDExL3VzX2FmZ2hhbmlzdGFuX3dlYXBvbnNfZmFpbHVyZXMEY3BvcwM1BHBvcwM1BHNlYwN5bl90b3Bfc3RvcmllcwRzbGsDd2VhcG9uc2ZhaWxl

I found it interesting that this topic has now made the headlines. Wonder if it will help spur the Military/govt into action.

longcall911
October 11, 2009, 09:22 AM
It's so hard to believe that we don't have weapons in the battlefield that are up to the task. In the article one soldier states that 1/2 hour into a firefight his M4 barrel had turned white hot, then refused to fire.

I'm not sure the M4 is all that well positioned against the AK47, but I'm no pro. It may be fine for the house calls in Baghdad, but we need major fire power in the mountains.

/*tom*/

LateNightFlight
October 11, 2009, 09:29 AM
From the article: "U.S. special operations forces, with their own acquisition budget and the latitude to buy gear the other military branches can't, already are replacing their M4s with a new rifle."

I wonder what they're replacing the M4s with. I wish the article would have elaborated.

Slamfire
October 11, 2009, 10:21 AM
From Yahoo News: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091011/ap_on_go_ca_st_pe/us_afghanistan_weapons_failures;_ylt=AgRhslqbcrHiLcRt4xArZyDBF4l4;_ylu=X3oDMTMyOXNoZDRvBGFzc2V0A2FwLzIwMDkxMDExL3VzX2FmZ2hhbmlzdGFuX3dlYXBvbnNfZmFpbHVyZXMEY3BvcwM1BHBvcwM1BHNlYwN5bl90b3Bfc3RvcmllcwRzbGsDd2VhcG9uc2ZhaWxl

"My weapon was overheating," McKaig said, according to Cubbison's report. "I had shot about 12 magazines by this point already and it had only been about a half hour or so into the fight. I couldn't charge my weapon and put another round in because it was too hot, so I got mad and threw my weapon down."