PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Training Requirements for concealed carry

MJAtl
July 28, 2009, 09:14 PM
Wanted to know the community's thoughts on state requirements for training to obtain a firearms license/CCW/CCP?

Coming from a state without the requirement I appreciate the ease of the process for obtaining a permit - basically if you have a clean record you qualify. Now, the drawback is that South Carolina won't accept a GA permit due to the lack of training and given that my father lives there I visit often. I don't qualify for a SC non-resident permit as I am not a property owner there.

Thoughts on training requirements?

rwilson452
July 28, 2009, 10:20 PM
Required training should be zero, none, nada. Suggested training should be all you can afford.

Brian Pfleuger
July 28, 2009, 10:36 PM
None. I would suggest that a copy of the relevent laws be dispensed when a person makes a purchase. That would be all the training you need.

MemphisJim
July 28, 2009, 10:41 PM
Tennessee has a training course requirement. Mississippi does not. I elected to take a couple of courses (at a Memphis range) because I did not have a lot of pistol experience (except for carrying one sometimes during 14 months in Vietnam 40+ years ago) and wanted to increase my personal comfort level with one before going concealed carry. Intellectually, I'm in agreement with rwilson452 but sometimes it even scares me to see how some Bozos handle their "carry" pieces.

Kreyzhorse
July 29, 2009, 06:49 AM
Zero required training in my opinion however I can't argue too much with Kentucky's required training course.

The course was an 8 hour class room course followed by a simple range test. The course covered basic CCW laws in Kentucky, the legal aspects of CCW and basic gun safety.

The range test was pretty easy. Demonstrate safe handling and the ability to score 15 out of 20 at 7 yards.

All and all I found the course easy (which it should be) and informative.

sundog
July 29, 2009, 07:49 AM