PDA

View Full Version : Rifle newbie here... Should I bother?

FiveForSure
June 10, 2009, 07:57 PM
Ok, here's my situation. I'm relatively new to gun ownership in general. I own two revolvers, and I am very comfortable with those. I don't own a semi-auto yet, but plan to when I feel the time and finances are right. I do not own a rifle. Until tonight, I had never shot one.

Tonight was my orientation/target and safety test for membership at my local gun range. I shot every bit as well as the more experienced guys with the .22 revolver and auto test guns. Then they handed me the rifle, and things got ugly. I have serious trouble with my right eye, a condition called keratoconus. Basically, that eye is useless for much other than depth perception. Things close to me are blurry, things far from me are blurry. I hadn't really taken any of this into consideration when it came to shooting a rifle. So I got up on the line, tried to line up the sights with both eyes, which felt natural, but couldn't get it right. So the RSO told me "Well, close your right eye". I did, and immediately realized that there was going to be trouble. I couldn't SEE the front sights at all, and the rear sights were tough to make out. Nothing I tried worked. Not a single rifle round even hit the paper. It was pretty sad. Luckily, they understood that it was not something I had much power over and accepted me based on my handgun work alone.

So my question is.... what can I do, if I want to be able to own rifles and shoot them well? My current dream is to save for and buy an AR-15, but I might as well just buy more handguns if I can't SHOOT the rifles. Would it be worthwhile to try shooting lefty, using my good eye for sighting? Is there any sort of position "correcting" that might compensate for the eye trouble or allow me to sight with my right eye while shooting righty? Please don't tell me my one handicap in life is that I'll never shoot a rifle again. :(

seanie
June 10, 2009, 08:15 PM