PDA

View Full Version : .204 ruger vs .220 swift

butta9999
June 1, 2009, 02:55 AM
Ok so i am looking at a new varmint setup. I have an old .222 remington 788, well it's my dad's and it's a pretty tired gun.

I have had plenty of experience with the swift but none with the .204 ruger.

The rifle will be a heavy barrel, i will glass bed the barrel, and get a little work done to the trigger. My max range will be 300 to 400yds at the most.

Any members own a .204 who can swing me towards the ruger.

I know the swift takes heavier bullets and will better in brezzy days. I try not to hunt if the wind is up too high anyway.

Is there much of a bullet selection for the .204 as i will be reloading.

Whats the barrel life on the .204, i know the .220 swift will get about 2000 rounds before any erosion. with moderate loads that is.

precision_shooter
June 1, 2009, 08:46 AM
While I don't have any experience with either, If I was going to choose a varmint caliber right now it would be the .204. From everything I have read it is Super Accurate, Super Fast, and explodes on impact. Everything you could want in a Varmint Cartridge.

Now, as for the rifle, It would have to be a Savage. No need to Glass Bed anything and No need to have ANY trigger work done. Already has free floated barrel and a Superb trigger. Depending on the model you can adjust it down to 6 ounces of pull.

Hope this helps, but if not, someone will come along that has experience with both to give you a better comparison between the two cartridges.

Come and take it.
June 1, 2009, 09:24 AM
.204 can shoot a bit flatter and buck the wind better.

.220 has superior power and reliability of bullet performance.

Light fast bullets are not as predictable as heavier bullets on animals.

Doyle
June 1, 2009, 09:30 AM
.204 can shoot a bit flatter and buck the wind better

Absolutely no way that lighter .204 bullet is going to shoot either flatter (at least over a reasonably long shooting distance) or buck the wind better.