PDA

View Full Version : Ok, what should it be? Benelli Supernova or Remington 870 Express Magnum?

Hank15
May 31, 2009, 04:40 AM
I posted a thread earlier to ask for shotgun suggestions - a good all purpose shotgun that does well in everything except HD (I have a Colt 1911 for that :) ).

After all the suggestions, I've narrowed it down to the two: Benelli Supernova or the Remington 870 Express Magnum.

Just something to keep in mind, the Benelli Supernova shoots 3 1/2 inch magnums as well.

Which one would you suggest? Why?

jlv08
May 31, 2009, 07:58 AM
My experience with the Remington Express shotguns has been good and bad,

good in the sense that my early model ( circa late eighties or early nineties)

Express had no issues of any kind other than it did not pull up to my shoulder

as much as I liked. It didn't feel right for me and my frame size.

My Bro. in laws gun was a rust bucket. That's another story.:mad:

I have no experience with the Benelli other than it rattled worse than a

goose loose Mossberg and that turned me off when I shouldered one at a store.

It 's a matter of preference and I would find out what fits me and how it

balances for carry purposes afield if that is your intent of use.

IMHO a 3' gun is as good as a 3.5 inch gun and a 2 and 3/4 is no less effective.

The only gun I would consider in 3.5' would be a Mossberg 835 with a 24" barrel ,camo'd, with Hi-viz sights.

It's a proven gun in the 3.5 inch category, even though it does rattle a little.:rolleyes:

I haven't heard enough good about the Remington Supermag to get a warm fuzzy about parting with my hard earned cash to buy one.

I have not been impressed with Remington with any of their new shotguns as now they seemed to have been slipping in quality.:(

If you can stand the rattle of the Benelli slide, I'd say Benelli.

If 3.5 ain't real nescessary, and the Benelli doesn't make your socks roll up and down, a used Wingmaster would more that suffice for an all around gun.