PDA

View Full Version : Good starter rifle (building to long range)

carlf
May 24, 2009, 11:38 PM
I would like to get into long range shooting. Unfortunately, I have little experience with rifle shooting and I feel like it would be a little silly to blow thousands of dollars on an AI or Sako rifle before it's even clear that I can develop the skills necessary for such a weapon. With that in mind, I'm looking for a relatively inexpensive rifle that I can use to work on basic technique and see if I would like to spend the money to go farther. Something that could shoot out to 150-200 yards would be ideal. I'd prefer bolt action since most of the really long range rifles seem to be bolt action. Any recommendations?

fisherman66
May 24, 2009, 11:41 PM
A good quality 22lr is the best tool around to develop skills. What's yer budget?

carlf
May 24, 2009, 11:42 PM
Would like to keep under 700 if possible.

fisherman66
May 24, 2009, 11:50 PM
That opens a lot of doors in the rimfire world. How much would you proportion toward a 22lr and save the remaining for a centerfire rifle?

Bolt actions:
Savage, CZ make middle of the road (price wise) 22lrs that are well regarded.
Ruger just slightly more expensive with their bolt action
Kimber, Cooper, Anschutz top shelf

Were I you, I'd go with the Savage or CZ to learn technique and then graduate to centerfire. I think the CZ are much easier on the eyes, but Savage fans will come out of the woodwork any moment. Some of the CZ's come with a set trigger;)

overkill556x45
May 25, 2009, 12:21 AM