PDA

View Full Version : Maverick 88-no primer strikes

Woolval
April 23, 2009, 07:18 AM
I'm a newbie here...

My Maverick 88 is not reliable. I am getting about 2 "no primer strikes" out of a box of 25 rounds. I've cleaned the bolt and trigger assembly thoroughly... and I mean THOROUGHLY!! I took the trigger assembly completely apart, and anyone who has done this knows how much fun it is getting it back together. But, I did get it together and it is working properly. (if anyone has trouble with the trigger I can offer tips I found...)

The bolt is also clean. I took it apart as far as I could and it is clean and lubed up, ready to go.

Is it possible I'm not racking the pump firmly enough? Would this cause my trouble? I'm thinking maybe a "weak" racking might not cock the trigger fully, maybe causing a light strike on the primer.

Any input and help is greatly appreciated. I've signed up for a Bushido Tactical Defensive Shotgun course on May 9 in Miami and the course will be much more enjoyable if my shotgun works! Especially since we'll be firing around 400 rounds...

Then again, maybe I should trade it in and get a different shotgun. Gee, that would just be terrible!! Don't tell my wife...

Val
Ocala, Fl

oneounceload
April 23, 2009, 07:25 AM
Have you tried various brands of ammo and had the same result?

Have you had a friend try it to see if he gets the same result?

If it is still giving you fits, then maybe a smith needs to take a look at it.

Since you're in Ocala also, you might want to have it checked out by Art Lawson - older gunsmith who works on everything - he's off of 17th by the new overpass and you'll find him in the white pages.

apr1775
April 23, 2009, 07:30 AM