PDA

View Full Version : Dissipator Uppers for AR-15 (what are they "dissipating"?)

rantingredneck
March 25, 2009, 08:54 AM
I'm new to the whole AR15 thing. I own a 16" carbine and am in the process of putting together a 20" rifle.

A question struck me though as I was logging in to TFL. I saw the graphic with the Dissipator AR and it got me thinking, What's the purpose of that configuration and what exactly is it Dissipating?

Just a random question for the day..........

teeroux
March 25, 2009, 09:00 AM
Its usually a short barreled variant with full length rifle gas system and hand guards. Its supposed to give you the shorter barrel with the benefit of the lowerer presure, easier on the action, full length gas system.

RT
March 25, 2009, 09:10 AM
I think the point is to have a shorter barrel with rifle length sight radius. Usually these have a lo profile carbine gas block under the hand guards. CMMG offers dissipator uppers with carbine, midlength, or rifle gas system.
http://cmmginc.secure-mall.com/shop/?cart=1585835&cat=27&
I am not exactly sure what it is "dissipating".

Technosavant
March 25, 2009, 09:57 AM
I guess they're "dissipating" bad guys.

As said, the Bushmaster Dissipator does NOT have a rifle length gas system- it has a carbine length low profile gas block under the handguards with a regular rifle length handguard and sight radius (the front sight/gas block isn't used as a gas block). They look a little weird, but I guess if you plan to use irons or you just want acres of handguard space they might be worthwhile (the same thing can be done with a regular carbine or midlength 16" barrel, a low profile gas block, and 12" railed free float handguard, complete with handguard mounted front sight).

AK103K
March 25, 2009, 10:12 AM