PDA

View Full Version : 17 HMR - 1st group

McClintock
February 5, 2009, 09:47 AM
Hi, all.

Thought I'd post the first group I shot with a new Savage 93R17-F, with a Bushnell 3-9x40 scope for sights. The weather was "nice" this past weekend (with "nice" being a relative term, -5 Celsius and with a 20 km/h cross-wind at a 45 degree angle to what we were shooting), so my dad and I decided to head out and play around with the HMR. What a fun little rifle to shoot!

Unfortunately, we only got one 5-shot group in each before the wind got worse (and consequently the wind chill), but I thought I'd post the results. My brother and I zeroed the rifle at 50 yards on Christmas day, so dad and I thought we'd stretch the distance out a bit. I was able to put 5 rounds into a 1-1/8 inch group at 145 yards, and I am by no means an expert marksman, so this little rifle makes me look good! I'm sure with practice, sub 1-inch groups would be possible at 150+ yards.

The picture may not be to scale, but it's an 8.5"x11" sheet of paper; I had to play with it a bit to get it to a size that would fit in the post.

hogdogs
February 5, 2009, 09:53 AM
Very nice first group! I hear the wind plays hell on those dinky bullets... So I guess you did real good.
Brent

Shamus
February 5, 2009, 06:01 PM
My experience with the 17HMR is, as you get the barrel and trigger broke in your groups will tighten up a bit.

I think getting comfortable with shooting the rifle will have something to do with it as well. After 500 rounds you'll be better for sure and after 1000 you'll never sell it. :D

73flyby
February 5, 2009, 06:13 PM
17 HMR is the only rifle I want right now, and for no good reason other than it can do exactly what you have demonstrated. (That's probably all the reason most would need.) It just looks fun.

armedtotheteeth
February 5, 2009, 07:40 PM
you would have missed :D

MacGille
February 5, 2009, 07:44 PM