PDA

View Full Version : Basic AK info for newbie

Dead-Nuts-Zero
November 12, 2008, 03:29 PM
I am NEW to the AR Gun sport. I feel I must purchase a new AR type arm before it's outlawed. Have no idea what I am doing because I never had an interest in them until I was told I may never be allowed to own one.
My main question is the 5.56mm Nato vs .223? Are they equal in any way, or more like a .38/.357, or .44 spc./.44 mag. where one is ok in some chambers?

Just a simple answer if possible, and any reason to go with .223 or 5.56 and not the other etc. I tried some searches but soon became confused.

I think I know the answers here, but want to ask the experts so I understand everything.:confused:

Also have interest in 9mm or .40 carbine rifle that uses Glock mags. Kel-Tec 2000 is one choice, but difficult to find right now. Any comments on these carbines? My reason is I have Glock mags and I load 9 & 40, and sounds like a fun thing to shoot.

OlympicArmsFan
November 12, 2008, 03:40 PM
The black gun is an AR not an AK. If you going with an AR get one chambered for .223/5.56 so you can shoot both. The pressure in the 5.56 round is to much for a .223 rifling.

Also change the names in your post or it will get locked and you have some good questions.

ttman
November 12, 2008, 04:26 PM
lol dat was confusing...

OlympicArmsFan
November 12, 2008, 06:56 PM
Im really new to guns and I tell you its hard to go to a lot of boards and ask question so many will give you a bad answer or be really smart a** about it.

When buying an AR always look to see if its chambered for both the .223/5.56 if it only says .223 you cant shoot the military round 5.56.

Also if you look at guns and they are used or have a no brand name on the receiver take it to a gunsmith if you buy it to have it checked out and to make sure its chambered for what it says it takes. Thats just good safty.