PDA

View Full Version : AIM - Converted Saiga?

Coomba
July 12, 2008, 04:15 PM
Hey all, anyone know if this is a converted Saiga? Is it worth the money?

http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/Russian_Saiga_7.62x39_Rifle.html

All I know is that you have to convert Saigas to accept the standard AK mags. It says there they take standard AK mags and they are pictured with what seems to be a standard AK mag. I've heard that Saigas have no bullet guide, so part of the conversion is that, so I was thinking that if it isn't converted they pulled some gunsmith trickery to make it work like it does. But what do I know, I'm new to all this.

Also, just got my C&R, and thank you all very much for your help with that, so if you know anywhere that has eligible AKs that would be great.

chris in va
July 13, 2008, 12:38 PM
I'm sure they did something to make a bullet guide. Another guy on the board had a pre-made Saiga conversion and his had a spot weld for a bullet guide. Seemed to work though.

Frankly you can do the conversion yourself. Find a Saiga for ~$300, then put on the parts you *really* want. Cheap, expensive...whatever works. I did mine for about $500 including the gun.

www.Saiga-12.com

Coomba
July 14, 2008, 04:26 PM
You know, it's funny I'm asking this now AFTER I ask about a product, but what exactly am I getting when I buy a Saiga. What I mean is, are they sturdier or more accurate or?

They're cheaper, that's for sure.

Also, I've never done any work whatsoever on any firearm whatsoever. All I know how to do is clean my USP and take apart my SKS. I have basic tools. What am I getting into if I choose to convert a Saiga?

Oh, and do they sell wood furniture for them?

shooter_john
July 14, 2008, 04:35 PM