PDA

View Full Version : ruger no 1

aussie will
April 14, 2008, 05:01 AM
gday all, i'm new to this so please be patient. i've a no 1 varmint in .22/250. what a great thing it is. i'm having trouble with scope positioning and was wondering if anyone knows an alternative mount to the standard ruger mounts. i realise ruger makes an off set ring but it only appears to give an extra inch or so of latitude. i need a couple of inches of rearward movement if possible. the no 1 is such a fine rifle. mine's really starting to shoot good tight groups now. bit more load development and it'll really hum. thanks.
will

fisherman66
April 14, 2008, 06:20 AM
You can use double offset rings and you need a scope with lots of eye relief. I've settled on Leupold's VX-II 2-7x33 since it has 4-5 inches eye relief depending on the magnification. Another alternative is to get your rings a size higher and buy a scope with a longer section of tube between the windage/elevation adjustments and the front bell ramp. The last thing you can do is buy a weaver base adapter that clamps onto quarter rib or screws into barrel replacing the quarter rib. I love the #1, but Ruger made scoping the thing very difficult. The spacing of the quarter rib falls right between the standard eye relief scope and an intermediate eye relief scope.

With double offset rings a Zeiss Conquest with constant 4" should provide adequate eye relief. I'm not boned up on varmint scopes, but I'm sure there are others. Scope makers are more concerned with objective size and other things than they are about nc eye relief.

alfred
April 14, 2008, 10:17 AM