PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a shotgun for competition

steve-o 1911
March 17, 2008, 08:34 PM
Hey, i'm new to competition shooting and I have my pistol and rifle setup. But for shotgun I was deciding on getting an 870 for my first competition shotgun. Should I get the 870 Tactical or the Police? Or should I be using a different type of shotgun Also what length barrel would be optimal for target shooting? I'm new to all this so I might sound pretty stupid. But any advice would help Thanks!

P.S. I'm looking at spending between 500-800

grey_pilgrim
March 18, 2008, 01:38 AM
Do you mean three gun shooting, or something else like sporting clays, trap, or skeet?

Presumably you mean three gun, since you've stated that you intend to buy an 870 tactical/police, and I am not qualified to comment on that choice, having never participated in a 3 gun match.

I can tell you that for clay targets, longer barrels swing nicely, and presumably there's some sight radius benefit as well. I'm not great at skeet, but i've gotten beaten by people with 870's (when I was using an auto), but for most of us humans to take a skeet game to the next level, it helps to have a double or autoloader. My game is still in the basement. :D

But the beauty of shotguns is that you can quickly swap barrels, and 870 barrels are fairly cheap (try finding a barrel for a left handed 11-87 :( ), so you can have a shortie for your three gun/home defense/clutching while watching red dawn action, and then switch to a longer barrel when you want to embarrass that dude with a fancy pants double at the clays range.

Lastly, if your range is $500-800 , it might not be out of the question to consider an autoloader. Or you could get a plain jane 870, a short (18") barrel, and the leftover money would buy a lot of targets, ammo, and range time.

Smitty in CT
March 18, 2008, 06:31 AM
Mossberg 930SPX can be had for ~$550, some folks have found them for less...

They make a great 3-gun shotgun...