PDA

View Full Version : Auto-Ordinance General

1911rocks
February 23, 2008, 07:42 AM
I'm looking for a historical view/opinion. We all are aware of the history of the AO Gov't. models of the 1980's. But, what about the General, the Combat Commander sized Weapon ( all steel ). I've seen (2) of these, one in 45acp and one in 38 super. They both were tight and well fit. They both had High vis. 3 dot sights (looked like King Tappan Sights), flat mainspring housing. The only oddity about these is the "2 tone" Blue Job. The Slide looked like a Plum blue job and the Grip Frame was a "Colt" Blue. Opinions, memories, observations welcomed.

Sarge
February 23, 2008, 09:07 AM
I'm an old LE instructor, handgun nut, and 1911 tinkerer with better than 30 years at those distractions. Every agency I 'gunnied' for allowed the troops to furnish their own sidearm. Few of those folks had unlimited disposable income and many had been bitten by the tsetse fly that carries the 1911 sickness. Suffice it to say that I have seen my share of Auto Ords at qualifications.

Many of them wouldn't run- and they weren't just Auto Ords (http://sargesrollcall.blogspot.com/2006/01/special-edition-which-1911-for-duty.html#links). As the resident '1911 guy & shop mechanic' it fell to me to get them running.

The following applies to the old 'West Hurley' guns-

When I got inside them, I often found poorly-cast and undersize hammer/trigger pins, disconnectors, plunger tube components, slide locks and magazine catches. The extractors were soft and improperly beveled; ejectors were improperly mounted and poor castings at that. Magazine catches and components were pitiful. Now here's the deal-breaker- the magazine catch port in the frame was occasionally oversized. Replacing the junk parts effected no improvement in those gun, or at best a temporary one as even good parts would wear and break quickly from flopping around in the frame.