PDA

View Full Version : Need Help on Fletching Jigs: 2 degree or 4 degree offset?

FirstFreedom
December 13, 2007, 06:05 PM
Guys, I'm new to do-it-yourself archery. I'm tired of paying people to fletch my arrows.

My question is this: I'm going to buy a 3-fletch-at-once fletching jig, for plastic vanes, offset right, and I can choose either 2 degree or 4 degree offset. Now this is for Quik-Spin ST 2.25" vanes *right now*, but it will be used as a general purpose jig for these and other vanes (including Blazers). The "Blazer Vane" jig specifically made by Bohning for Blazers is a 2 degree offset, but will I be better off for general use and for quick spins using a 4 degree, or just stick with the 2 degree? 2 degrees doesn't seem like much. It seems like 4 degree would be better for imparting a good spin, but then again, I'm sure Bohning knows what they're doing - any help here? Thanks.

P.S. Also, these off-the-shelf bow clamps that have two ends that grab your split limbs with T-handles that going in between the split and draw the limbs in when you turn the crank - do these types work, or am I better off waiting and saving up for a true large bow cradle for stringing etc? Thanks.

FirstFreedom
December 13, 2007, 06:40 PM
Also, what brand/model fletching jig do you recommend I get, and from where?

FirstFreedom
December 13, 2007, 07:57 PM
Another thing - of all the many archery forums, which one is one you recommend as a good place to start and register at first, with good peeps? Too many choices....

davlandrum
December 13, 2007, 08:08 PM
FF - As always, don't take my nonsense for gospel, but..

For carbon arrows, I think you will be fine with 2 degrees. The quick-spins have a "kicker" on them that will assist with the spin anyway. Are you shooting a biskit? My buddy could never get quick-spins to work with his biskit, as the kicker would hit the fibers and go a little crazy.