PDA

View Full Version : Question about EOTech sights

GLP Standard
October 26, 2007, 03:06 AM
I'm new to AR-15s, but I just bought one, and I want to eventually add an EOTech sight to it, but I don't know much about them. Could someone fill me in on how many different models there are, how much they all go for, what the difference is between them (features, etc) and also, what model does our Military over in Iraq use? The M4s that EOD and Security Forces check into our armory at work have EOTech sights on them, but I dont really know what model. Also, what model would you recommend I look into?

Martyn4802
October 26, 2007, 07:51 AM
I have two of the EOTech holo shights, a model 512 and a 552. Both are powered by AA batteries. They make models that are powered by N cells, which are smaller and may not last as long as the AA batteries. The 552 is the one used by the military for the main battle rifles.
It is larger than the 512, and appropriate for a rifle like the AR 15. I have the 512 mounted on a light Ruger 10-22 that is tricked out; a perfect combo.
The EOTech sights are a true holo sight that are virtually parallax free from 22 yards to infinity, and the EOTech's are the only Holo sight made. All others are red dot sights that do have parallax, some more than others. I think the Aimpoint red dot sight has less parallax associated with it than the other makes.
The following is from a friend who knows these kinds of sights: