PDA

View Full Version : Advice for .22 pistol, Ruger or Buck Mark?

Paul-K
September 18, 2007, 12:53 AM
Greetings,
I'm very new to shooting, and I'd like to get a .22 pistol for target shooting, maybe someday even get good enough to compete a little. I'm not very familiar with too many manufacturers but I have seen both Ruger and Browning Buck Mark. I realize that this might be a personal preference question but any help, advice and/or experiences is appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul-K

dwatts47
September 18, 2007, 02:54 AM
Both are great and accurate, however the ruger will have an edge in parts and accessories availability.

Accuracy and function of both is near identical... handle/shoot them both and see which one you like.

I have the ruger...its one of the few guns I own that is completely unmodified. Got it when I was a kid... never needed to upgrade it.

GATMOG
September 18, 2007, 03:11 AM
www.rimfirecentral.com has a wealth of information about both guns, personally I like the ruger--but which fits you best is for you to decide :D

GATMOG

CajunBass
September 18, 2007, 05:03 AM
Another "I like the Ruger, but you might like the Buckmark" reply. They're both good guns.

Charles S
September 18, 2007, 05:32 AM
You won't go wrong with either choice.

I selected the Ruger simply because magazines cost about 1/3 of what the Browning mags cost locally. I love my Ruger.

The Browning is a great gun also.

SW40F
September 18, 2007, 07:22 AM
You do mean, "Which one shall I buy FIRST, right?" :D

Flip a coin, buy one, shoot it a lot.

Save for the other one, buy it, and then shoot them both a lot.

tlm225
September 18, 2007, 07:32 AM
I've owned both. I liked the Ruger, loved the Buckmark.

ActivShootr
September 18, 2007, 08:00 AM
I have had nothing but good experience with the ruger mkII.

mikejonestkd
September 18, 2007, 08:07 AM
I like the ruger quite a bit, and have owned a few.

I love the buckmarks and have owned and will continue to own more in the future.