PDA

View Full Version : Scope help needed

Georgian
August 11, 2007, 09:51 AM
Hey yall. I have a H&R Sportster .22WMR that I am interested in scoping. However, I have little experience with scopes, with the exception of using one or 2 scoped rifles that were already sighted in. I have no clue how exactly to work with a scope, as far as sighting it in is concerned. I understand that one adjustment knob is used to windage and the other for elevation, but know little about about scopes, there power, etc. If someone could run me through the basics and recommend a good scope I would appreciate it.

Full-choke
August 11, 2007, 10:02 AM
Okay, somewhere in the fixed 4x range would work well with a 22WMR rifle. You don't need anything too much, there is no sense in counting the hairs on the groundhog you are shooting at. BSA, Bushnell, Konus and Tasco all make affordable scopes that will handle that rifle fine. Some make rimfire scopes too that are set to do something you are calling for.