PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a "Fine" gun ....

DoItRight
July 24, 2007, 07:28 PM
I've been shooting for a few years now -- got my start right here on TFL. I have owned a number of guns -- sold some when money got tight, kept the ones that I was able to afford or that I liked. Now, I am in a position to treat myself and I'm going to do it "First Class."

This is my deal:

* I don't carry nor do I plan to -- my shooting is purely recreational at the range. (I just find satisfaction in being able to put bullets where I want them on a target.)

* For convenience and economy's sake, I only shoot .22 and 9MM

* I already own a Browning Buckmark, a Beretta Neos, a Star BM, a Bersa 223, and an S&W K22 (Actually, a Pre-Model 17)

Now, I am looking for a 9MM that is a "Fine" gun. Not collector's item but something that is a little special -- not necessarily a work of art but something nicer than the average "tool." I am looking for something that is both classic and classy.

I've been thinking about a BHP or perhaps a 1911 in 9MM but I'm sure the board has opinions -- I'd love to hear them!

'75Scout
July 24, 2007, 07:39 PM
Either choice is great, but I prefer the Sig persuasion.

David the Gnome
July 24, 2007, 07:45 PM
I was also going to suggest a Sig. :p

IanS
July 24, 2007, 07:47 PM
BHP customized by Novaks or maybe Yost

HK P7/M8

SIG P210

SIG X5

S&W 952

Various offerings by STI or SVI

SA 1911 9mm customized by 'XXXXX'

Semi-Custom makers like Nighthawk or SA Custom can make you a nice 1911 9mm too

All very nice. Unfortunately, its the pricey guns that are special and "fine" but that's the way it is.

Webleymkv
July 25, 2007, 10:28 AM
Sphinx perhaps? Or you could go with someting historical and get a Luger.

JoeHatley
July 25, 2007, 10:36 AM
[quote]I am looking for a 9MM that is a "Fine" gun.[/img]

You might want to look at a S&W 952
http://www.iowatelecom.net/~hatley/952_r.jpg

Or, if you like the 1911 platform, order a RRA Competition 9 mm