PDA

View Full Version : New Colt Navy .44 reproduction

FeLiX84
January 7, 2007, 10:31 PM
My grandpa just gave me one of his blackpowder pistols and i am wondering what size ball does it shoot cause i can't find a .44 size just .454 .445 .43 any help would be great

FeLiX84
January 7, 2007, 10:34 PM
almost forgot to give you guys a pic

Steve499
January 7, 2007, 10:43 PM
I'd go with .454 balls. The chambers shave off a ring from them when they're seated so they have to be bigger to start with. Some revolvers can use .451 balls and the Ruger New Army models want .457s but, except for the Ruger, most all will work fine with .454s.

Steve

FeLiX84
January 7, 2007, 10:47 PM
it doesn't matter that it is to big? i have a lot of guns just no blackpowder pistols so i am new to all this

skeetabop
January 8, 2007, 12:34 AM
Yes, it's ok it's bigger, you want it that way so it fits tightly in the cylinder. it will shave the soft lead off and fit nicely. I use .451 in my 1860 Colt, but the .454 will work also.
These guns can chain fire (that means some or all of the cylinders can go off at once). To prevent that, make sure all your nipples have percusion caps on them (#10's work the best with the my 1860).
Nice looking gun BTW.
Good shooting!

pohill
January 8, 2007, 06:53 AM
Not that it's a big deal, but that's the 1860 Colt Army .44 (not Navy). Round barrel, creeping loading lever.
I use .454 balls (they MUST shave a ring of lead when you ram them down, unles the chamber mouths are beveled) and #11 caps (#11 are bigger and have to be pinched to keep them on the nipples). Use something to seal off the ball-end of the chambers - Crisco or Bore Butter smeared over the balls, or lube pills (or lubed wads) under the balls.

FeLiX84
January 8, 2007, 10:28 AM
should i always use Crisco or Bore Butter and i was told just put some powder in the chamber and pack the ball... is this right no wad in there

Hafoc
January 8, 2007, 10:59 AM