PDA

View Full Version : My first trap lesson tomorrow...

Tahoe
August 25, 2006, 05:11 PM
I've been hunting birds for 30 years off and on finally decided to see if I'm doing anything right.

I talked the guy on the phone last night. He said first we'll see what your dominant eye is, see if you gun is the right fit, etc, etc, etc and then we might get some shooting in. Being the impatient A hole that I am, I said if we aren't shooting half way through the lesson(1 hr lesson 50 bucks), I don't want it.

I understand gun fit and all that stuff is very important, but I kill birds, I just want to improve a little.

I have 2 thoughts ... Some of these folks can only go about things one way...my teacher. Its not like I'm going to go buy a new gun if it doesn't fit me like he thinks it should.....OR maybe I should take a chill pill, relax, listen to what he has to say and pick up whatever I can and move on. I think I'll choose option 2.

I'm going to take my Benelli, Weatherby, Browning and Extrema because 1 of them is bound to fit me to his standards.

As much as I'm already griping about him, I'm looking forward to it.

AAshooter
August 25, 2006, 08:02 PM
Enjoy your lesson. I would run with the instructor. The fact of the matter is that if you are going to really get into trap you probably will buy a new gun with time.

In the interim, any (almost) gun will do if you will do. Trap is a funny game. Very mental and exacting. Many competitions end up with multiple people shooting 100 birds straight and having a shoot-off to settle the winner.

Depending on the type of hunting you do, you might want to consider sporting clays rather than trap. Seldom do those folks end the day with 100 straights.

bdarin
August 25, 2006, 10:01 PM