PDA

View Full Version : Suppressed SBR Question

shooter_john
June 12, 2006, 06:28 PM
I have decided that I pretty much have all of the guns that I "need" and maybe its time to jazz 'em up a little, but I have little knowledge of NFA rules and regs. If I were to build a 11.5 AR and I wanted to suppress it, would I need a tax stamp for both the supressor and the SBR or would one stamp cover the whole deal? Also, how much would I be looking at spending on a good durable suppressor? ( .223 of course, no full auto)
Thanks for any and all help!

smince
June 12, 2006, 06:46 PM
Price, I'm not sure on. But I believe if a separate upper and suppressor, two stamps. Integral suppressor, one stamp.

James K
June 12, 2006, 08:31 PM
I don't know about an "integral suppressor" but normally the NFA firearm is one tax and Form 4, the suppressor is another as it is an NFA firearm itself.

So, two stamps, two transfers.

If the suppressor is truly "integral", like the Ruger pistols with the turned down barrel, I don't know. I would call BATFE on that one, but I suspect the reply would be that the shell and internals of the suppressor make it separate and taxable, even if the normal barrel is used and the suppressor is not really detachable.

Jim

rkba_net
June 12, 2006, 10:06 PM
Two tax stamps... even with an Integral suppressor.... years ago ATF let one get away with one stamp on the HK MP5SD's... but this is no longer the case...

DTakas
June 12, 2006, 10:09 PM
Someone else will have to verify this but I think if you permanently attach the suppressor to the short barrel and bring the overall barrel/suppressor length to over 16" you will only need a stamp for the suppressor since if it's permanently attached technically you won't have an SBR.

rkba_net
June 13, 2006, 10:20 PM
>Someone else will have to verify this but I think if you
>permanently attach the suppressor to the short barrel
>and bring the overall barrel/suppressor length to over 16"