PDA

View Full Version : .308 versus body armor video

expeditionx
April 21, 2006, 12:07 PM
http://media.putfile.com/2ndchancecomp

Syntax360
April 21, 2006, 12:50 PM
Wow - no matter how many times I watch that video, I don't think I would ever have enough confidence to do that. Insane. Good video, thanks!

FirstFreedom
April 21, 2006, 01:37 PM
On that very last shot, he wasn't more than 2 inches from missing the vest to the shooter's right (the shootee's left). Stupid, stupid, stupid.

NedreckSavant
April 21, 2006, 02:02 PM
Did anyone hear the blue shirt bonehead say "I do this for a living". I wanna get to shoot him...*sigh*

Good body armor though, I would really consider purchase after seeing this...

I still can't get over how bad an idea this is...honestly the single stupidest thing I've ever seen. Ever. Can you imagine giving this kind of demonstration at your local range?? And you're right, another inch or two to the right on that last shot...would have been seeing more than 'fluff' flying everywhere.

Superhornet
April 21, 2006, 02:18 PM
That video has been around probably for over twenty years. It actually is part of a weapon and bullet penatration film from the 22lr all the way through 50 cal. Some real good data on bullet performance on car doors, glass, gas tanks and armor. Also shows bullet deflection when firing through different thickness of brush..Video ended with MA-2 firing into car through the door into a bullet proof vest over 1" armor plate...went through it all like it was butter....Last part of film, they put sticks of dynamite under the car....big repair job on car.....

Chaingunner
April 21, 2006, 04:24 PM
Great video!

And if i was the shootee, i woulda smacked that guy hard for coming that close to missing the vest, ha.

9mm_prn
April 21, 2006, 05:56 PM
:eek: