PDA

View Full Version : Slug Barrel

Buzzard
February 26, 2006, 08:48 AM
I want to get a slug barrel for my Mossy 500, wich is better, smooth bore or rifled, ported or not ????
sorry if it sounds dumb, I am kinda new to shotguns.

Ruger4570
February 26, 2006, 08:54 AM
I prefer the fully rifled barrels for the improved accuracy, The downside is that the sabot slugs cost more. I would also ask at what ranges do you intend to be shooting at. The smooth bore do pretty well out to 75 yards and a few shoot well beyond so the standard Foster types can be used which are considerablt cheaper. Good luck

BigV
February 26, 2006, 11:19 AM
Smooth bore slug barrels are old technology. The rifled slug barrels are far more accurate at 50 yards and beyond. Effective shooting ranges increases as well and in some cases well beyond 100 yards with the right combination of rifled barrel, scope and sabot slugs. As stated earlier expect to pay more for Sabots, between $7 and $10 for a box of 5 shells.

andyrnokc
February 26, 2006, 11:43 AM
Buzz,

I would go for the rifled barrel, I have one on my 1100 and love it. I would also recommend Remington Core-lokt Ultra's. Their accuracy is outstanding.

globemaster3
February 26, 2006, 02:39 PM